Where in the World is Elder Inman?

25 Aug

Where in the world is Elder Inman?

(Aug. 19th)

Well this has been quite an eventful couple weeks, my companion in Resada and i had planned to move into our new apartment that Saturday, never happened. We had just finished an amazing lesson with L&K and i was supper excited to invite them to baptism the next lesson i had a flat tire so we had to walk home (an hour away) and on the way we got a call and it was for me, i was told i received my visa and would be leaving Monday, this was such surprising news, it didn’t feel real, it was very bitter sweet because i loved my area and was super excited to continue teaching our investigators and would never see them again, and i loved my new companion, every second was awesome, but it was awesome news because i would now go to Brazil to teach the gospel, there was lots to do before i left and i had so little time, Sunday my last day there after church i had a young boy in my ward come up to me, shake my had and say he would miss me almost crying, then later his mom told me hew would never listen to the missionaries after dinner until i came and he would talk about me after we left, this made it hard to leave and i had a few more experiences like this, i packed up (i forgot a couple things) and said goodbye to my companion and room mates and my bishop drove me to the assistants house(my bishop was freaking awesome), we stayed the night there and were shipped of the next morning early( 4 of us) we separated after salt lake i went to New York, me a couple missionary there and they bought me dinner, they were awesome, i also met Elder Haskel who also got his Visa( from the MTC district) we flew to San Palo ( which is much larger than New York) met up with the others there, had some visa scares with Elder hasekl, the continued on to Goinania, from there we were introduced to the mission met our awesome mission president, and then told who our new comps are and where, mine was to far away to be at the meeting so i didn’t meet him till i got to Uberaba, where i am serving, he is Brazilian and doesn’t speak any English so I’m learning the language very fast( its like a huge game of charades) he is awesome and to describe him he is Shila Buff. i have run out of time, lots more to say next week.

Much love, Elder Inman

(from July 29th)

The Pictures did come through :) , Awesome

OH man the YSA conferences are so fun, I hope they had a great time. On of my companions just got a wedding invitation from one of the girls back home, and i was thinking how cool it would be if one of my sisters sent me one of those, i also am curious how everything is going with David and Camden’s baby. The Weather here hasn’t been to bad either, we had some rain just recently, a few drops. Also i am being transferred, my Trainer is leaving and becoming a Zone Leader, he didn’t even get to finish training us. But yeh, I’m being transferred to a new area, just opened, it is the Reseda east, so Elder Benjamin is on the West and i’m on the East, and we both will get new companions, i will be moving to an apartment we found near the church on my side, but as for baptisms all of the scheduled ones for next month are on the west, so i have a lot of work to do, i need find a lot and teach, i hope to have a couple baptisms next month, it will be for the same ward though which is awesome, it will be fun to see how the meals go now. I have spent a lot of time this week separating the Area book, Serving others (mostly with moving, including my new apartment) teaching recent converts and inactive, and finding new potentials by going through our former investigators (all on the West). I also had the opportunity to go on Exchange with the Zone Leader, Elder Garcia, it was such a neat experience, he taught us how to be so much more effective in our nightly planning. I also got to got to an all Korean Baptism, it was so spiritual, and strange because i couldn’t understand anything, and i had to wear a head set to listen to the translator, a little gimps of what it will be like to be foreign. Then on Sunday i got to see another baptism in the Zone Leaders area, they found the girl that got baptized by visiting an uninterested inactive member and he mentioned a girl he knew that might be interested and this girl actually called as they were leaving so he invited her over and called the missionaries back in and they taught her a lesson and invited her to baptism and she said yes. I might be able to go to the temple this Saturday with a couple of our new members and investigators, that will be awesome. Also we found a scale and i found out my weight for the first time since leaving the MTC, i have gained 25 pounds, putting me over the 200 mark, though i do believe i might have put on a little weight the majority is in my legs, they are pretty solid now that I’m on bike. I also have noticed so much more from my studies throughout the week, new things that I’ve just learned or never noticed, so many little miracles, The main two would have to be how simple what we teach really is, its true and makes complete sense, the second is in 2 Nephi in chapters 31 and 32, making reference of speaking with the toungs of angels after being baptized and receiving the Holy Ghost, then in 32 he explains how the angels speak by the power of the Spirit and the testify of truth, of the words of Christ, and so when we speak about Christ and his gospel we are speaking by the toungs of angels. I also have a new appreciation for 2 Nephi 33.
I love and miss you all
(Pics from Sis. Anderson)
We knew that day would come when we would have to say goodbye to Elder Inman.  He was called to serve in Brazil but was sent to our mission while he awaited his visa.  Last week he got his visa and left Monday.  We will miss him! ImageImageImageImage
(Also from Sis. Anderson)
As of the end of July we had 4 elders serving in our ward.  Elder Chapman, Elder Inman, Elder Benjamin and Elder Hawker.  On the evening of August 3 we had a party for a couple in our ward who were returning from serving a mission in St George and of course, where there is food, there are missionaries!  I think they had a dinner somewhere else just prior to showing up at our party but that didn’t stop them for a minute.  We love these guys!
ImageImageImageImage

Edit this

 

One Response to “Where in the World is Elder Inman?”

  1. Grandma September 2, 2013 at 1:08 am #

    Hey Elder Inman ~ Eve helped me find this … I am so computer illiterate! It sounds like you’re already an awesome Missionary (but then I knew you would be). I feel so bad that I haven’t written you weekly but now I will. I just didn’t know how to find you.

    This weekend everyone was here from your family except you and Aurora. You were missed!! (So was Aurora). Steve and Sheralan met us at Land Between the Lakes and we took turns boating. It was all so fun. Your parents, Danni and Enoch are back home. David, Camden, Tawny and Eve … & Cody are still here and going home tomorrow. They were here 2 weeks ago and now they’re back … I’m going to expect this more often!!

    I’m glad you finally got your VISA and are in Brazil. Since your companion doesn’t speak English you’ll be speaking Portentous fluently soon.

    Our Branch recently got Sister Missionaries and they’re incredible and we’ve had several baptisms. We about doubled in size when your family went to Church with me today.

    I’ll do better about staying in touch now! You’re always in my prayers!

    Love You Bunches!

Leave a Reply

